iMovie in the Classroom

Over this summer, I took a graduate course and one of the things required was to create a  60-second movie to show multimodality. Fortunately, I had already experience creating simple images in a free graphics editor, Vectr as well as creating a storyboard. I did not, however, have any experience in putting a movie together and I was a little apprehensive. With a few days to come up with an idea, storyboard it, learn the software, and create it, I had no choice, but to forge ahead.

imovie.jpgI chose iMovie as the tool, collected my images, and learned how to create a movie! It took me a couple of days to figure out all the ins and outs of iMovie, but it was pretty straight forward. As I was doing this, my 12-year-old and 9-year-old were curious as to what I was doing and after I explained the assignment, they too wanted to create a video. Below you will find all of our videos that we created:

My iMovie to help motivate teachers at the beginning of the school year:

My 12-year-old created a movie to show how an old logo is being replaced with a new one:

My 9-year-old created a movie using post-it notes:

According to Halverson (2010), the primary mechanism for constructing identity is through the stories we tell. These movies are a way that can be used in the classroom to help students share their identity with the rest of the class. I have included some links to articles that show other examples of how making movies can be used in the classroom.

Please share in the comments or Contact page if you have any example of using iMovie in your classroom.


Reference:

Blanos, Christine. (2017, July 16). Concept Video (60 sec). [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/peQmKByTfBg

Halverson, E. R. (2010). Film as identity exploration: A multimodal analysis of youth-produced films. Teachers College Record 112(9), 2352-2378.

Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Storyboard

Leave a Reply

